Starbucks: Refreshers

Starbucks amazes me. The company has some majorly brilliant marketing minds, in my opinion. And they’ve long since had extremely strong branding for both their company and the products it creates (I’m not a fan of their recently updated logo, though).

One of Starbuck’s newest products enters the “energy drink” space with its Refreshers collection. And while it is, of course, trying to capitalize on this trend they’re also appealing to those consumers who are a little on the health-conscious side.

“With real fruit juice, B vitamins, ginseng, antioxidants from vitamin C and only 60 calories per can, it’s a pick-me-up you can feel good about.”

The collection consists of three types of packages:

  • Handcrafted Beverages
  • Sparkling Beverages
  • Instant Beverages

I enjoy the look and feel of each of these, but the one I recently ran across while picking up some essentials from CVS is the sparkling beverage. Specifically, the strawberry lemonade.

Untitled

I like the clean, bright, appealing presence of the package. Of course, with this one being strawberry flavor there’s a tie-in not only with the coloring on the can but a hint of strawberry (the accompanying raspberry pomegranate and orange melon adopt the same look). I also really like how the healthy components are called out, as well as the calorie count. (Hey…these aren’t necessarily things I look for personally, but I know many people do so it’s important to feature.)

Now, as it relates to the taste (i.e., product delivery), I’m honestly still up-in-the-air about that. The drink is fairly good and definitely refreshing; however, there is a “diet-y” taste to it I’m not quite keen on. I’m willing to give it another try, or perhaps one of the other flavors.

Have you tried any of the new Refreshers product? I’d love to get your opinion. If you haven’t you can find out more about more by visiting the Starbucks website.

4 thoughts on “Starbucks: Refreshers

  1. Reblogged this on Being Your Brand and commented:
    The right packaging can make or break a customer’s decision to purchase a product. If the packaging is unappealing, a customer will not give the product a second thought. Instead, they will move right on to a competitor product, and a sale, as well as a potential customer relationship is lost.

    One area of packaging design that I find very interesting is the re-design of an existing packaging or the packaging design of a new product line for an existing brand. I find both of these situations interesting because of the challenge to meld the new idea or product with the branding which customers have formed a connection.

    Ashley K. Edwards recently posted a very insightful analysis of the Starbucks Refreshers packaging design, a new product line for a well-established brand. Starbucks has always been known for their creative marketing ideas, and most of us business school graduates probably read many case studies about those ideas; however, this is an different perspective on their marketing tactics using one of their newest product lines. I highly recommend checking out this article to learn about how Starbucks created a new product in response to trends in drink preferences, while still maintaining their core brand image.

  2. I like the look of this can design, too, Ashley. It looks crisp and refreshing, and the Starbucks logo is eye catching (although the 3 bullet point benefits look like they’re in a pretty small font, at least in this photo).

    I’m not sure about the term “green coffee extract” – that doesn’t seem appealing. But that could just be me.

    I haven’t tasted it yet, but am now curious.

    • Good point on the value props, Josh. I can’t imagine this is really altogether too healthy (candidly, I spend too much time with the back of the can), but it’s got to be better than the average soda.

Leave a Reply

