Crystal Light: Classic and Mocktails

Sure, it’s just a simple little beverage. Or is it? It’s been around for quite some time but I’m thinking Crystal Light isn’t really so simple these days. Case-in-point, these little guys (see below) caught my attention during a recent trip to the grocery. Definitely not your Mom’s drink any longer…and that’s not who the company is marketing to, either:

“Create a delicious refreshment with our mixes – whether you and your 4-inch heels are turning sidewalks into catwalks or you’re meeting the ladies for an after-work gossip session. So let that hair down, put on that mini skirt and enjoy low calorie, zero guilt Crystal Light.”

Let’s take a closer look….

Classic
For those who like there tea with a little umph, Crystal Light has these flavors (and more, of course). With the two represented here, I think they did a really nice job of capturing not only the personality of each flavor–the beautiful pink lemons and the you-can-almost-taste-the-flavor raspberries–but the color palette to coordinate with each. I mean, particularly if I were thirsty I’d jump on one of these in a heartbeat!
Crystal Light: ClassicCrystal Light 1

Mocktails
Not everybody likes to drink. Alcohol, that is. I have to severely question the sanity of such persons, but hey…to each his own. So I think it’s kinda cool that Crystal Light has developed this line of “mocktails” (mock cocktails – I’m sure you got it) within their brand. Flavors like Margarita, Mojitos, and Appletinis. Some folks like the flavor without the extra savor!
Crystal Light 3Crystal Light 2

I also really like how the Crystal Light website blends nicely with the product packaging. It makes for a consistent consumer experience. What I don’t like, however, is the fact that their television spots are being promoted on the site, yet they’re not “playable” because the “owner has closed their YouTube channel.” That is not cool at all, and shame on Crystal Light for not paying closer attention to this.
Screen shot 2012-12-09 at 10.36.55 AM

Do you have any thoughts on this?

Given all that, thirsty, yet? I know I sure am. I’m seriously thinking about picking one–or two–of these up to make at home. I might add a little adult flavor to mine, though….

For more delicious flavors visit the Crystal Light website. You can also keep up with them on Twitter (even though their Tweets are fairly inconsistent) and on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

